Skrillex

Skrillex is another of those producers who has been on my radar for a while now, without me actually checking him out. My loss. I got round to downloading his free EP, released in June, the other day and it’s been on repeat ever since.

Skrillex is Sonny Moore, hailing from LA. Pre-Skrillex he was front man for From First To Last, who I’ve got to admit I’d never heard of. They were ‘post hardcore’, or emo, depends who you read. Anyway, your man Sonny has moved on somewhat since then, probably not in the direction his former fans would have expected.

The dance music he makes now is hard to define. That’s what I like about it, I’m sick of genres. It’s got everything in there, from dubstep, electro, Fear of Tiger’s-esque stuff, bass line wobble. In the course of the My Name is Skrillex EP he covers pretty much every base and he does it really well. You might say he’s weakening his hand, trying to cater for too many tastes, but you’d be wrong. He’s just making great dance music and at the end of the day a great dance tune is going to do exactly what it says on the tin and make you fucking dance. Who cares what genre it is? If I was at a Skrillex night I’d be sweating my balls off and probably half dead by the end of it. Bollox to the haters

Skrillex – My Name is Skrillex EP

Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites is the new EP, released on Deadmau5’s Mau5trap label,which you can get through beatport (he’s taking over the charts there) and keeping with the notion of the first EP, you don’t really know what you’re going to get from track to track. Sometimes your getting smashed around the face with filthy bass, next tickled under the chin with a chunk of house. When the bass kicks in on Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites it’s like something that should be coming out of the fiery mouth of the Balrog. The whole experience is akin to being at three different parties in a house with interconnecting rooms. Exciting stuff.

Rude boy bass, mash up the place

Skrillex – With You Friend MP3

Leave a Reply

