Run Riot

Don’t seem to have heard much from Tom Run Riot recently. That might be just a relative quietness, as he’s been very prolific, or it could be that he’s become a soldier of fortune and is off fighting in the African bush. Or he’s become Roy Keane’s anger management coach at Ipswich. I might have got those two confused.

He’s back now anyway and with a couple of biggies.

I think I may have mentioned before that I’m not a huge fan of Tiesto. I’ve got nothing against him or his particular scene, I just don’t feel what he’s doing most of the time. I probably heard ‘Knock You Out’ when it was released and went ‘puh’ or ‘tsk’ and turned it off after 30 seconds. It’s a bit – nothing really. I’m sure it kicks ass in a Big Room somewhere, but on my cans it does nothing for me.

Add a touch of Run Riot magic and you’ve got something much more interesting. Take the vocal, which is the best bit of the original to be honest, and stretch it over a nice dubstep and I can listen to it again and again.

Tiesto – Knock You Out (Run Riot Remix)

I’ve never been asked to remix anyone, never mind anyone of any renown. I can’t imagine what it’s like when a ‘Name’ comes to you asking for you to rework one of their tunes. I imagine I’d crap myself and get horribly self conscious, then make a load of excuses and miss the deadline. This is why I write shit and don’t produce music.

Not Tom though, straight in there, stamping his mark over this Moguai tune and making it his own. I like Moguai and I’ve got to say I was interested to see what he’d do with this. He keeps pretty close to the original, laying what I like to call the Run Riot Throb (does that sound dodgy? It’s the best I can come up with) over it and giving it a push forward, stretching the breakdown out, then dropping it down nicely – with Mel & Kim giving it some along the way.

Moguai – Get Fresh (Run Riot Remix)

Is it just me, or does the original echo Faithless ‘Feelin’ Good’ somewhat? No, just me? Righto…

Leave a Reply

