Tag Archives: Pet Shop Boys

+Watch+ Pet Shop Boys – Vocal

In which the Pet Shop Boys go and try too hard. Love the start of ‘Vocal’, up until the first drop, when it goes all sonic fucking bonkers and turns into a parody. Like your dad was describing dance music to your mum. Structurally it reminds me of ‘It’s Alright’ and the fellas would probably say it was ‘It’s Alright’, for 2013, but it just sounds like ‘It’s Alright’ gagging on an EDM crack pipe. Like one of my favourite PSB tunes, one that got me through some dark years of teenage shit by the way, had been drenched in a shower of saccharine gunge right out of David Guetta’s arse. There’s too much going on and you’d have thought with so much undoubted talent behind the mixing desk, someone would have said ‘hang on a minute, does this really need another massive build and even more effects?’ By the end of it, I’m in the middle of a full blown panic attack.

Listen and enjoy until 1 minute 20 ish, then go and listen to ‘It’s Alright’ and wash your ears out

+Listen+ Pet Shop Boys – Axis

psbI can’t tell you how much it means to me to be able to hear/post a PSB tune I actually like. Too many times since, I dunno, Very in 1993, I’ve heard new releases from the pioneering pop duo and I’ve had to stifle the yawns. It’s all been a bit meh. Don’t get me wrong, as far as personally seminal bands go the Pet Shop Boys are up there, but apart from ‘Minimal’ off 2006’s Fundamental, they haven’t released a whole lot that’s excited me in twenty years. Don’t even get me started on the monstrosity that is ‘Winner’.

Anyway now they’re back with new Stuart Price produced material and judging by ‘Axis’, the first track off new album ‘Electric’, the studio collaboration I always assumed  would be a match made in heaven seems to have borne some Hi NRG fruit. It’s not perfect, Dave ©  reckons it sounds like the music from Alan Partridge’s canal boat promo in places and he’s not wrong, but overall this feels like Chris has finally worked out how play a synth again and the pair have finally remembered what dance music is. ‘Electric’ is released on July 15th. Tracklisting below the vid.


1. Axis
2. Bolshy
3. Love is a bourgeois construct
4. Fluorescent
5. Inside a dream
6. The last to die
7. Shouting in the evening
8. Thursday (featuring Example)
9. Vocal