Tag Archives: Waylayers

+Listen+ Waylayers – S.O.S


We featured Waylayers back in 2010, when they were one of the stand out bands on Kitsune Maison 10. As is too often the case, in our drowned in sound world, we lost sight of Harry, Dave and Joe, the East London trio that make up the band, but now they’re back with ‘Fault Lines’ a five track EP due out in June. Lead single off the EP will be ‘S.O.S’, a synth heavy slab of euphoria, which at first listen sounds like a TWD remix of a good Coldplay. Expect a video some time soon.

Waylayers have also announced some summer festival dates and a headline show at KOKO, on June 14th:

26 May 2013 – Osfest Festival, Owestry, UK
31 May 2013 – How The Light Gets In Festival, The Globe, Hay, UK
14 June 2013 – Koko, London, UK
15 June 2013 – Isle Of Wight Festival, Isle Of Wight, UK
16 June 2013 – Isle Of Wight Festival, Isle Of Wight, UK
22 June 2013 – Beach Break Live Festival, Newquay, UK
26 July 2013 – Wickerman Festival, Scotland, UK
26 July 2013 – Kendal Calling Festival, Kendal, UK
27 July 2013 – ?Redfest Festival, Surrey, UK
02 August 2013 – Sugarmill, Stoke, UK
03 August 2013 – Y Not Festival, Derbyshire, UK


Right, that sound you heard was the Coldplay Klaxon. I set it off, with my lazy derivative track description. Special agents will be scouring the internet, setting off the Klaxon really loudly in the ear of anyone that writes that Waylayers sound at all like Coldplay. Beware.

coldplay klaxon

Kitsune Maison 10

The new Kitsune compliation, number 10, is out November 15th and it’s looking as strong as ever.

01. Cacadeur – Walker (Early Remix)
02. Guards – Don’t Wake The Dead
03. Is Tropical – South Pacific
04. Yelle – La Musique
05. Two Door Cinema Club – What You Know (Mustang Remix)
06. Beatacue – Disque Oh
07. Strange Talk – Climbing Walls
08. Punks Jump Up – Blockhead (Edit)
09. The Aikiu – The Red Kiss
10. Flight Facilities feat. Giselle – Crave You
11. Jolie Cherie – Insomnie
12. Wild At Heart – Get Related

01. Clock Opera – Once And For All
02. Icona Pop – Manners (Extended)
03. Young Empires – Glory Of The Night
04. Housse De Racket – Chateau
05. Teeth – See Spaces
06. The Heartbreaks – Liar, My Dear
07. Waylayers – Fires
08. Digitalism – Blitz
09. Black Strobe – Me & Madonna (Twelves Remix)
10. Justus Kohncke and Alexis Taylor – Sorry
11. Psychobuildings – Terror Management
12. Palbomen – Moon Children
13. May68 – The Prisoner (Cecile Remix Jerry Bouthier Edit)

I love the video teasers that herald the arrival of a new Kitsune Maison, not because I’m some sort of perv, who likes to watch attractive people get dressed, you understand. As a snapshot of what Kitsune is about, chic cool, they work perfectly. In this video I also love how Nane (the girl) effortlessly gets her kit on, whilst Hadrien (the fella) is obviously trying his hardest to win and is visibly fucked off when he doesn’t Hard luck, Hadrien. Next time imagine you’re getting the clothes off and there’s a shag at the end of it.

One of the bands featured on the compilation is the Waylayers. If you go to their site you can download three of the bands tunes for the price of an email address. Well worth the effort. I’m certain we’ll be hearing more from these. Check out the vid of ‘Big Machines’ down there.

Also check out

Waylayers – Hear No Lies



J-Bag has put together a mini mix of the album. Part 2 is coming up next week