Jus’ Chillin’

It’s beautiful around here at the moment. Trees and hedges like towers and walls of crystal, flashing in the cold sunlight. It’s also uncomfortably minus twelve, or something as chillingly mental.

I listen to most music whilst driving. Usually to and from work. It’s my favourite time, I’m alone and confined for at least half an hour at a time and when it’s this chilly the car is at least warm. I was listening to the Sei A remixes today, while driving through this Narnia landscape and it fitted perfectly. Cool as fuck, combining perfectly with the white exterior, this sparce and beautiful techno. I recommend you listen to this while driving through snow.

Sei A – White Rainbow Remixes Part 1

 

Got a really nice email from Footjam, aka Brent Nasternak, the other day with a link to his tunes on Soundcloud. Obviously being nice about my blog is always a good way to get my attention, so I swung by (like Soundcloud is a bar or something) to have a listen.

First word that popped into my head, listening to his stuff was ‘tight’. The word kept floating around, as I tried to find a good way of writing him up. Tight to me is watching a band play a gig and marvelling at the way they keep it all together. They’re totally in sync, playing almost as one unit. Footjam is tight.There’s a lot going on in his productions, some great sounds popping off, but he’s always in control of where the tune is going, with an almost obsessive eye for detail. Footjam is going places, in my very humble opinion. Grab the Pulse EP on Beat Rude Records when it’s released January 10th

Footjam – Sketch

As if that wasn’t enough for Footjam there’s also Grok, released on THaf Records next year. This one’s a proper floor smasher. Keep your eyes on THaf records for news of the release.

Footjam – Grok

 

Leave a comment